AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2018

Subscribe to SmartRegion e-News

A portal connecting
Hampton Roads’
organizations, citizens
and civic leaders.

About Us
Hampton Roads Partnership Membership PDF Print E-mail

The entire membership of the Hampton Roads Partnership serves as the Board of Directors. Bylaws currently state that the Board of Directors shall be not less than thirty (30) nor more than one hundred fifty (150) in number.

The Executive Committee, the Board's governing body, consists of the Officers of the Corporation, i.e. Chair (or Co-Chairs), Vice Chair (or Co-Vice Chairs), President, Secretary and Treasurer. The Executive Committee also includes the currently appointed Navy Liaison, the Executive Director of the Hampton Roads Planning District Commission and the Chair of the Chief Administrative Officials as Ex-Officio members.

The Officers and other appointed Directors to the Executive Committee serve one year terms or until their successors are appointed. The President serves at the pleasure of the Board of Directors. Other Directors may be appointed to the Executive Committee by the full Board of Directors from time to time (there is no limit on the number of individuals that may serve on the Executive Committee).

The Board is comprised of Fixed Directors who serve for as long as they remain in their respective office or position. Fixed Directors include the:

  • Chief elected official, i.e. "Mayors and Chairs," of all seventeen Hampton Roads communities:  cities of Chesapeake, Franklin, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach and Williamsburg; counties of Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City, Southampton, Surry, York; and the town of Smithfield;
  • Executive Director of the Virginia Port Authority;
  • Chair of the Hampton Roads Planning District Commission;
  • Chair of the Virginia General Assembly's Hampton Roads Caucus;
  • Chair of the Hampton Roads Chief Administrative Officials;
  • Chair of the Region II School Superintendents;
  • President of the Hampton Roads Economic Development Alliance.

The Board is also comprised of Elected Directors made up of community leaders from the private business sector, industries, professions, Chambers of Commerce, nonprofit, information services (media), civic associations, higher and secondary education, and labor from both South Hampton Roads and the Virginia Peninsula.

The Chair appoints a Nominating Committee each year responsible for contacting prospective members nominated by the current Board members. Based on their calls, the Committee develops a slate that includes incumbents whose terms are expiring along with new members elected to serve 3-year terms. The slate is presented to the Board for approval at the annual meeting in June. (Note: The Bylaws do not limit Board members from serving consecutive terms.)

The Nominating Committee is responsible for recommending individuals to fill vacancies on the Board of Directors or Executive Committee which may occur during the year. The Nominating Committee works to achieve broad-based jurisdiction and business sector representation.

Senior officers of the Military Commands, including the Navy, Air Force, Army, Coast Guard, Fleet Forces and Marines Joint Forces, located in Hampton Roads may also be recommended by the Nominating Committee and approved by the full Board to serve as non-voting Liaisons to the Corporation, consistent with military policy and regulations.

Industries represented on the Board of Directors include:

  • Business & Professional (Technical)
  • Construction
  • Educational & Health Services
  • Financial (Insurance, Real Estate)
  • Government (Local, State, Federal, Military)
  • Information (Media)
  • Leisure & Hospitality (Tourism)
  • Manufacturing
  • Other Services (Nonprofit, Organizations)
  • Trade, Transportation, Utilities (Retail, Port)